A Song For Europe

To the tune of American Pie:

A long, long time ago
I can still remember how
This country used to make me smile
And I knew that in the EU
My dream of peace might just come true
And maybe we’d be happy for a while.

But referendum made me shiver
With every paper they’d deliver
Bad news on the front page
I couldn’t believe the rage.

I just remember that I cried
When I read about the exit tide
Something touched me deep inside
The day the UK died.
So

Bye, bye, all you European guys
They have wrecked it, we’ve got Brexit, ‘cos they swallowed the lies
And them Eton boys who told the biggest pork pies
Singin’ we’re all right, we’ve got old school ties
We’re all right, we’ve got old school ties

Did you hear the tales they told
And do you believe you’ve got control
If that Farage tells you so?
Do you believe migration’s bad?
Are Ukip not just raving mad?
Johnson got stabbed in the back by Gove.

Well I know you wanted Boris in
‘Cause I saw you share that post of him
You repeated his bullshit
Three fifty million, wasn’t it?

I was a voice of reason for Remain
Listenin’ as the experts said again and again
You’d flush the country down the drain
The day you voted Leave.
I started singin’,

Bye, bye, all you European guys
They have wrecked it, we’ve got Brexit, ‘cos they swallowed the lies
Forty eight percent will not just close up our eyes
Singin’ never gonna let EU die,
Never gonna let EU die.

4 thoughts on “A Song For Europe

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this.

